Newsflash – Clemens Not Just a Ballplayer!

13 02 2008

Idly listening while doing other things, to CNN’s live broadcast of Roger Clemens’ Congressional testimony, who should never go into acting yet who nevertheless just tried to render believable (if not moving)  the trite line: “I am not just a ballplayer. I am a human being!”

As I did a sort of a wincing chuckle, I thought he maybe should’ve added, “I am not a potted plant!” because even if he read the line just as badly, at least it would have been an entertaining nod to Congressional testimony history  — be the first to a comment with the context in which THAT line was rendered, and win a cock-eyed get out of jail free pass. . .

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 02 2008
JJ

Okay, you people must be very busy or very sick today, because I know you know this!

. . .Buoyed by the lively response, Ronald Reagan scoffed at critics who claim he has lost his political punch. Said he: “I reject a potted-plant presidency.”

That was, of course, a reference to one of the more memorable lines uttered during the Iran-contra hearings: Attorney Brendan Sullivan’s notable “I am not a potted plant” response when Senator Daniel Inouye grew impatient with the lawyer’s frequent objections and suggested that his client, Oliver North, should be the one to speak up.

17 02 2008
SandyFeet

My husband and I have been quite entertained by the Clemens proceedings. It has been a fun distraction from winter doldrums. As my husband says, it’s soap opera for men, but plenty of women are following it as well. Seriously, who does this guy think he’s kidding?

17 02 2008
JJ

Hi Sandy, nice to meet you, you should have mentioned that Holly says your blog is Excellent! 🙂

I confess we’re Red Sox fans here so perhaps we’ve been just a tad mean-spirited about Mr. Clemens, but OTOH, it distracts us from the Belichick spy scandal and the last second end of the perfect season!

I heard the other day that the Yogi Berra Museum had taken Clemens’ jersey down from its display about NYY’s resurgence in the 1990s, and I should probably go look up more about that. Better than doing taxes! — 🙂

Leave a Reply

