Pithy Pitch for Obama’s Finger on My (Elevator) Button

5 06 2008

Going up?

Wikimaster Chris O’Donnell is laughing up his sleeve because he thinks this Thinking Parent challenge will be especially challenging for bloggers like me, who always have a lot more to say about almost everything. 🙂

So up his.
(SLEEVE, I said!)
I’m laughing up mine back at him, because I know I can do this, piece of cake. Why am I so smug? Because he forgot, I guess, that I already did it!

And my elevator-ride pitch for Barack Obama doesn’t need 30 seconds, not even 30 words. How about six?

Six words! — to tell the story of my personal motivation (from homeschooling to hurricanes, finance to fascism) for choosing to support his candidacy, and maybe it will be the whole nation’s story in the end:

Because
I’m
Tired
of Being
Afraid

All of which REALLY makes me wish Hillary Clinton would stick to her original six-word story as I derived it from a February CNN debate transcript:

“It’s
Time
We
Said
No
More.”

Amen.
Isn’t this your floor, sir? 👿

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 06 2008
COD

Touché 🙂

5 06 2008
NanceConfer

So, we don’t have to live in fear? What a concept! 🙂

Nance

5 06 2008
JJ

Liza did a good job of capturing why for me, it’s not about their “positions” on issues being similar so they should be interchangeable.

For me their stories and frames and actions are radically different, opposite even. To me all this has nothing to do with being a good “Democrat” whatever the heck that’s supposed to mean. Or any other label including woman, black, blue-collar, elitist, etc etc.

No, it’s about how they each see us and themselves, and how they see problems, and how they see the possibilities of the presidency right now, at this moment in this reality. Very different imo!

One big contrast between Clinton and Obama that has gradually endeared him to me and alienated her from me, was that he never did the Black Thing in speeches as a rhetorical tactic, saying a black needed to win, that he carried millions of blacks in his pocket and intended to roll the dice for the big pot by betting them all.

But that is how she talked about women, including Tuesday night when there was no excuse left. (See Liza’s diary.)

5 06 2008
JJ

And honestly? She scares the stew out of me.

Leave a Reply

