You’d Think Carly Fiorina Was Officially a DEMOCRAT

25 08 2008

. . .and all the rest of them getting free air for their spin, to “speak” about the Dem convention. I’ve seen a bunch of conventions but nothing like this, ever. Not just Fox but MSNBC and even CNN are interviewing Republican critics of this convention and historic candidacy round the clock! I’ve seen Carly every time I had electric power and could turn on the tv, and she’s on again right now for extended one-on-one with Andrea Mitchell who just pitched her softballs and then accepted whatever talking points she came out swinging with. Including even more noun-verb-POW character claims.

Free campaign ads for the Rs all week?

And Paul Begala, James Carville and the rest of the Clinton crowd still dominating the news media on tv, naturally continue to advance Hillary’s visibility and importance, and both Clintons’ status as disrespected victims even as they suck up all the attention as THE story, with all the time left over that the Rs aren’t filling on-air — criticizing Obama for not kissing her feet while she continues to kick him with faint praise, as he’s flat on the floor from the latest truck McCain hired to blindside him. Now Andrea is prompting Walter Mondale (not much older than McCain but did she mention that??) to talk about Hillary Clinton instead of the Obamas.

In fact, the only time I’ve heard the Obama name mentioned in the last 36 hours is to attack it — Michelle Obama has been trashed all day, from every angle, Dems and Rs alike, plus the supposedly neutral commentators. Is this what McCain’s whining about media bias (and shadowy corporate backers) bought him? Or is this really what passes for “fair and balanced” news coverage now?

They better believe I will be watching next week, to see if the real news journalists do nothing but air spin from Dems promoting Obama and trashing the Rs while they are having THEIR convention . . .

Actions

Information

16 responses

25 08 2008
COD

I’ll watch Obama’s speech, but I’m not planning on watching anything else from either convention.

25 08 2008
JJ

Why? (just curious)
I was just asking myself the same thing in reverse, why do I watch so much of it? 😉
I’ll let you know if I come up with a good answer . . .

25 08 2008
JJ

Oh let me UP!! Sheesh! Wolf Blitzer just interviewed some perky polished PR flak named Nicole Wallace, formerly Bush White House press sec, now senior advisor to the McCain Campaign. All about what a humble bootstrap success story Cindy McCain was, and how grateful John is to have any house or table (after having no house at all suffering for his country.)

What a piece of work, why haven’t I seen her before?
Aha – even Fox reporters see her as way pushy?

And cable news just broke in on the Dem convention coverage with supposedly actual news, that almost-president John McCain just announced he is “sending” his wife Cindy to Georgia, to assess civilian casualties and report back to him (or maybe just to his staffer in charge of America’s customer service to the Georgia government as client?)

UPDATE – Duh, dunno why I didn’t think of this before. C-Span! Blessed actual coverage without “color” interviews and chatter, like watching the Red Sox or Gators away, without having to endure the host team’s nasty biased commentators!

26 08 2008
JJ

Nancy Pelosi just isn’t much of a speaker, is she? — poor thing. Especially considering her high profile job title is SPEAKER . . .

26 08 2008
COD

We actually did watch Mrs. Obama’s speech last night. Meh. I didn’t realize how young she is though. Only two years older than me. Ignoring all the political posturing and policy questions for a moment though. I do think it is time that we have a president who’s worldview is not shaped by war. Reagan and Bush 1 are both WWII generation, Clinton and Bush II are Vietnam generation. Obama would be the first President (since WWII maybe ?) whose life is not shaped by reaction to war. I think that bodes well for the belief that his first reaction to anything won’t be to send troops.

26 08 2008
JJ

Good point.
And since you and I both came from military families and value that background, maybe it’s particularly important that people like us are able to recognize and say that.

At 13 Young Son is a big war history and aviation buff too, which is weird because he was born the year my (USAF Colonel, ret. and Goldwater Republican) dad died, and so he never knew that influence as I did growing up. I like that he’s able to come to it innocently and I hope that bodes well too.

26 08 2008
COD

My 14 year old was reading “Waging Modern Warfare” by General Wesley Clark last week. My dad was USAF, but he was joined the USAF to avoid getting drafted into the Army when he dropped out of college. My dad hated the military. However, by the time his initial 4 years was up he had a wife and 2 kids, and all through the 70s they were offering huge re-enlistment bonuses so he kept re-upping.

On one hand, if you are a hammer, everything looks like a nail. If you are military, everything looks like a war. On the other hand, the military should be the most anti-war institution we have as they bear the fallout. I guess that is way our founders wisely made the military subservient to the civilian leadership. We just need to pick better civilian leaders.

26 08 2008
JJ

Btw, my dad never, ever brought up his years at war (Korea) or in the service after, not even during the campus war protests when he was a professor and I was a teenager with stupid friends. 🙂
And never at home to teach us discipline or sacrifice, etc. or talking politics.

What very little I did glean came from my mom in snatches of family story reminiscence. (I guess that’s why McCain trotting out the POW thing in every political setting now, seems so unheroic and wrong to me. I certainly was no Kerry fan either, for pretty much the same reason.)

I did get a shocking glimpse on rare occasions when (for example) I once sneaked up as he napped on the couch, to play a slumber-party joke on him and he leapt up in full blood-curdling, alert-attack mode. He was so upset he left the house for the afternoon, and we never talked about it then either. Mom told me not to do that again. (Didn’t need to tell me twice — experiential learning!)

26 08 2008
Crimson Wife

If I might make a suggestion, turn off the TV and turn on NPR if you want to hear pro-Obama coverage. Except for one segment where some Hillary fanatics were interviewed, they spent the entire nearly 2 hours I heard of “Morning Edition” today fawning all over him.

26 08 2008
JJ

What’s the world coming to? ;O

26 08 2008
JJ

Chris, surely you’ll watch Hillary tonight? And Bill tomorrow night? – although I do realize it’s the Red Sox at YANKEE STADIUM both nights! (CW, did you know that?)

26 08 2008
Crimson Wife

NESN isn’t available in the Bay Area so even if we still had cable I couldn’t watch the Sox game. If they make the playoffs this year, I guess I’ll have to shell out whatever MLB.com charges to watch the games online.

26 08 2008
JJ

We bought the cable MLB package this year for the first time so Young Son could watch with his dad (almost every night!) The game tonight was great or so I heard watching the Dem convention from the kitchen on the smaller set — I did come into the family room to see Papelbon get the last out (A Rod went down with a swinging strike, and the crowd went wild, in my house anyway! ) 🙂

27 08 2008
COD

I did watch Hillary last night, although I wasn’t really planning on it. I came up from the basement after watching Eureka via Tivo and Hillary was just starting, so I watched. That was one heck of a speech. The game wasn’t on ESPN so I had to make do with Sportscenter highlights.

27 08 2008
JJ

One heck of a speech is right! I was blog-commenting on it live last night.

28 08 2008
JJ

What do you think of this, Chris?
“Our Troops Support Obama Six to One Over McCain”

Leave a Reply

