Favorite Daughter’s First Vote On 88th Anniversary for Women

26 08 2008

She is a self-educated feminist and avid student of suffrage history.

Her first vote this morning on her way to college classes was inconsequential in every way, except the fact that she was able to cast it.
Voting independently has been a more important milestone in her eyes than getting her license to drive, which she still hasn’t gotten around to pursuing.


I predict she will always remember her first, and the exact date. 🙂

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 08 2008
Nance Confer

Congratulations to Fav D! 🙂

Two-year-old nephew and I went to vote this morning, too. He got a sticker. He was happy! 🙂

I was the only one there voting — did I mention I live in a tiny town?

Now, for as long as I have lived here, the precinct has been located in a church. OK, skip over that.

They have also always asked, not for a voter’s registration card, but a driver’s license or photo ID. OK, tough for those without photo ID. . .

And they have always been careless about displaying which party you are voting for. You sign in, you get a card that says Dem or Rep or Ind and that is waved around as you are walked to the voting booth. OK, so they are mostly Rs and I am a D but most of the poll workers and voters are old. I am not intimidated. 🙂

But the change today was amazing. To me anyway.

First, we still have to show our photo ID, not voter’s reg card. But then we have to sign in (not new) and then bubble in party affiliation (new) and then state out loud what our street address is (new) (even though the lady is holding my driver’s license, she is not allowed to confirm my address off of that). Then I was handed my Dem ticket, after reminding her I needed my license back.

Then we are sent to a second table (new) where we are asked if the Dem ticket is in fact correct — hold up ticket and ask “is this the party you wanted to vote for?” — and then receive ballot (new). In a manila folder (new). And once again bubble in that I am a Dem and sign (new).

Then we are sent to a privacy booth. Not so much but as we all discussed my party affiliation and anyone interested now had my street address, what the heck!

Here, instead of the computers we had for the past few elections, we are to bubble in next to our choices on the paper ballot.

Then we are sent to the guy who is standing at the scanner. Who is not supposed to touch the ballot, just take the manila (privacy) folder. But I was juggling the baby, so he helped me put my paper in the scanner.

Where it disappeared. There was no confirmation that anything happened except that my paper ballot was sucked into the machine.

As I went around the room voting, we all agreed that this was going to be completely screwed up on the November election day. The one for President!

Oh, yes, they all nodded and agreed. It’s going to be a mess.

Even the guy polling whether my voting experience was excellent or good agreed that this was not going to go well come November.

I live in a tiny town crammed full of old Republicans. And some old Democrats. There will be chaos in November. Now, here that means that you may have to wait in line for 20 or 30 minutes. As opposed to the normal — walk right in and vote.

But in larger cities? I am not encouraged.

DH wants to vote by mail.

Nance

26 08 2008
JJ

LOL – great story, I feel like I was there!

But you know, we’ve had optical scan here all along and it’s SO simple. I would think old folks of any party would be very happy with a piece of paper and a fat black laundry pen, instead of a computer!

Also it’s incredibly accurate, you know. In 2000 Leon County with its optical scam system and all the perfect, unambiguous (no-chad!) paper ballots, did a complete recount in a couple of hours, which came up 100% exactly like the first. You could have run it five more times and gotten the same result again and again, from what I’m told. 🙂

But you’re right, I had to say my address out loud too. I only noticed because I read your comment right before I left to go vote myself. Our power was out again when I came home from the grocery store with restocking food ($100 worth) after throwing everything out yesterday and scrubbing out the refrigerator and freezer. So I was revved up and ready to tangle, but I had to wait until the power came back on — the church we vote at is right around the corner and I figured it would have no power either.

When ours came back on, I checked the computer, saw your comment and then went straight down to vote. I walked in to see about 12 cute and friendly little old folks waiting just for ME! 🙂

So as I was doing the whole rigmarole as you describe so well, I said our power had been off and I had waited, was it off at the polls? Not here, the Little Old Man says, the lights never go out on God! His female counterparts up and down the line all nod and murmur.

Without missing a beat, I deadpanned, “Well, that must be why He’s in charge of this election.”

They thought I was a lovely, respectful young woman! 🙂

26 08 2008
Crimson Wife

One of my great-great-grandmothers met Elizabeth Cady Stanton on a train as an adolescent and was “baptized into the sacred cause of American womanhood” as the family story goes. She became an ardent suffragette and was thrilled to live long enough to see the 19th Amendment pass so she could finally vote in all elections.

Interestingly, she was a minister’s daughter and by today’s standards would be considered a social conservative. The argument that won her over for women’s suffrage was the belief that giving women the right to vote would improve the moral climate in the U.S. because female voters would be more likely to support laws regulating morality (such as banning alcohol or prostitution).

27 08 2008
JJ

FavD backs you up on that, CW.
She says suffragette women like all women then, were mostly family-centric, and alcohol/prostitution were seen as threats to family.

Unfortunately though, politically active and working women were seen that way too! Uppity meant you needed to be hammered back down . . .

1 01 2009
Lapping Up Milk « Cocking A Snook!

[…] places it reminded us of women’s suffrage in America, particularly as we saw that history in “Iron-Jawed […]

Leave a Reply

