Public Schools To Teach President Plots With Terrorists Against America??

6 11 2008

Accusations From the School Board Room

A member of the Texas State Board of Education is accusing Barack Obama of sympathizing with terrorists. In her November 2 post on the Christian Worldview Network Web site, Cynthia Dunbar wrote that “those with whom Obama truly sympathizes” are plotting to “take down” America.

Dunbar further alleges that Obama has no respect for the Constitution and will institute Martial Law once the “planned effort” is underway.

The Texas Freedom Network, a watchdog group that monitors the board, released a statement on Monday asking Dunbar to retract her comments. Dunbar responded, “I don’t have anything in there that would be retractable. These are my personal opinions and I don’t think the language is questionable.”

The president of TFN, Kathy Miller, said, “It’s stunning that a board member who helps decide what Texas children learn in their public schools would say something so disgusting and reprehensible. She should be taking refresher courses in civics and good citizenship, not deciding what Texas kids learn.”

In 2009, Dunbar and the other members of the Texas State Board of Education are expected to revise the state’s social studies curriculum and make a determination on including creationism in the science curriculum, according to the Chronicle.

Actions

Information

13 responses

6 11 2008
Alasandra

And they wonder why we homeschool?

Wish I could say I was surprised.

6 11 2008
JJ

And comes this from Michele Bachmann, the modern-day McCarthyite in lipstick who unfortunately seems to have been re-elected to the House despite her anti-American rhetoric — what the hell is “Christian therapy” and if it is indeed any sort of legitimate secular small business, what the hell does it have to do with PLUMBING??

“My husband and I were Joe the Plumbers,” said Bachmann, referring to the 42-employee Christian therapy business she and her husband started, as well as the ubiquitous plumber from Ohio who was elevated to the status of Everyman during the campaign.

“I think my business background and tax background works very well on Ways and Means.”

6 11 2008
JJ

I think the state school board wacko needs to be locked up in some Secret Service padded cell, nowhere near impressionable young minds including her own, if any!

6 11 2008
JJ

And I see nothing whatsoever about Michele Bachmann that “works very well.”

6 11 2008
Rolfe Schmidt

I knew I didn’t want to put my kids in Texas public school, but I never dreamed it would be this bad. Accusing the President-elect of treason? Absolutely nuts. I guess there is a lot of that going around.

Oh well, I’m applying for grad school so I might be out of this state soon.

6 11 2008
JJ

Oh Rolfe, it’s not just Texas I fear. From what you say about your boys, they don’t need to be in regular school public or private anywhere until they’re socially all grown and able to fend for themselves and their own ideas — unless maybe it’s private tutoring of some kind with brilliant quirky folk in different fields, or maybe a Sudbury type program . . .

7 11 2008
NanceConfer

And she has no clue what she needs to apologize about. Amazing.

Nance

7 11 2008
Debby

Why should she have a clue about what to apologize for? The past 8 years have been a free for all when it comes to this type of behavior.

In a previous post, CW claimed that teaching creationist thought as fact doesn’t impact the rest of society. This post brings home to me that the whole ‘lets ignore reality’ method of education does have a negative impact. It’s like the broken window theory of neighborhoods; if a neighborhood has a number of broken windows, its a sign there’s something else wrong.

Dogmatic belief in creationist theory can be symptom of other negative issues.

While I’m a homeschooler, I still don’t want too many broken windows in my public education system.

7 11 2008
JJ

Ooh, Debby, the broken window theory, this is excellent!

7 11 2008
Who Is the Real Anti-Obama School Board Theocrat? « Cocking A Snook!

[…] got curious after our last discussion, wondering how any public education official could be so openly anti-American and […]

7 11 2008
Rolfe Schmidt

Hi Nance,

I still wouldn’t think about putting the boys in school, even if we move. Homeschooling is my favorite part of being a dad. I’m just getting tired of Texas politics, that’s all. This kind of battiness seems to be the rule.

8 11 2008
Betty Malone

JJ,
I think the “war” is afoot…the war that has intelligent freethinking of the sort that my hero-Kurt Vonnegut-waged for years and died, feeling that he had lost the battle for the minds of American citizens. Perhaps it’s a war that will never end, but I do think that it’s a war that we homeschoolers are going to have to take a stand in. For me…new battles this week, when Emily, in her enthusiasm and delight over Obama’s election, posted a note about it on her FaceBook page, only to be soundly attacked by many of her homeschool “peers and supposed friends”. They mocked Obama’s speech full of liberty and justice and freedom, using the abortion card, asking where those rights were for the millions of babies he was in favor of killing in his administration. It was heart breakingly despicable…and so much the result of their “brain washing homeschool Christian Right education”. So in her defense, I have come out with gloves off, in our community..our local homeschool community. I think many of them “knew” my liberal progressive tendencies but forgave me them because I have kept those views to myself…No more…I shall be blacklisted soon! 🙂

8 11 2008
JJ

Reasons I am glad we homeschool: political bullying

On Wednesday morning, the morning after Barack Obama was declared the Presidential Elect, students in local schools (near me) were target[ed] for wearing Obama Memorabilia. Students reported being sent to detention as they got off the bus for wearing Obama t-shirts. They reported being threatened with knives. They report having political buttons ripped off their shirts.

. . .I do have to say that this is not the atmosphere at all schools, at least not where the administration makes it a point to teach respect for the political process. Check out this YouTube video on how the kids from Ron Clark Academy in South Atlanta handle political squabbles.

Leave a Reply

