This Top Ten List Is For Nance

5 12 2008

Ten Democrats Who Should [Just Hush Up and] Go Away:

by Ben Cohen of The Daily Banter

On Monday of last week, I published an article ’10 Republicans Who Should Go Away’. For some reason, the article went down a storm and received well over 100,000 hits. Reading the comments and emails I received was probably more fun than writing the article (which I enjoyed immensely), but I was a little taken aback at the debate I seemed to have sparked off. A host of conservative bloggers were up in arms, raging about liberal ‘hate’ I was spewing, and the temerity I was showing for insulting their idols. Neal Boortz called me a ‘Moonbat’, and Michelle Malkin fans left comments on my site accusing me of being a ‘liberal terrorist’ and a ‘communist’. I did however, receive some intelligent emails asking why I was only focusing on Republicans.

The Democrats have in some ways, been worse than the Republicans. As a party, they’ve stood idly by as the Bush Administration has literally ransacked the country, trashing the constitution and driving the national debt into unchartered territory.

So in order to show the Right that progressives are not reflexive liberals, I thought I would pen an article listing the top 10 Democrats who should go away. And by ‘go away’, I don’t mean censor, or prevent from speaking. I’m asking that they do it themselves – shut up for the good of the country. Here they are (in no particular order):

Actions

Information

22 responses

5 12 2008
JJ

Nance will forgive me because she knows I’m not a party person. 🙂

5 12 2008
Nance Confer

There’s nothing to forgive. There are many things that the Ds in Congress have allowed to happen that are just shameful.

This whole business with the various bailouts bothers me. More than bothers me — these people who are supposed to be leaders don’t seem to have much of a clue about direction or management. And that’s not even touching on all the crap that Bush has gotten away with. Including continued funding of the Iraq war.

Now to go read his list and see if it matches up with mine. 🙂

Nance

5 12 2008
JJ

Then come over here and stop me (or else help me with!!!) a top list of Homeschoolers Who Should Just Hush Up and Go Away. . .

“And by ‘go away’, I don’t mean censor, or prevent from speaking. I’m asking that they do it themselves – shut up for the good of the country.”

5 12 2008
JJ

Or we could just work out our criteria and then let the list spring spontaneously into the veteran reader’s mind, without actually naming anybody. Hmmm — all ten would be out in the public debate insisting that their way is the only way, divisive, hysterical, fearmongering, and at least half would be theocratic dominionists or whatever they’re most accurately called this year. Some would be Young Earth creationist moms and dads politically organizing to perpetuate that belief system as objective reality in textbooks, state standards and universities, infiltrating and then taking over perfectly good diverse and educated conversations among homeschoolers, killing off everything but the biblical moralizing and sense of persecution — I can think of more than ten names right there who would qualify for consideration. At least half would be child-beaters who defend that as “freedom” and “morality” and thereby make homeschoolers look ethically and physically dangerous to their own kids.

5 12 2008
JJ

Shrill and silly boycotters?

5 12 2008
JJ

Book banners.

5 12 2008
writestuff444

Someone must have been reading a certain Christian homeschool blog that I just read for the first time and OH MY God,, well not my God, because my God could never have endorsed such an idiotic drivel..about patriarchs, and women not working along side men, and under their father’s dominion and more of the same stupidity. I couldn’t help reading it, just to be shocked that people could really be trying to have a serious debate over whether their daughters would be allowed to move away from home if they were unmarried, not go to college, not do anything but “serve” her father until she marries..It can’t be true, can it? Not now, not here in America?

5 12 2008
JJ

Well- look at Bristol Palin, poor thing.

5 12 2008
writestuff444

JJ, it’s Betty…under my yahoo ID. Been checking out some of your blogging links on my vacation..Wow, lots of silliness out there. I admire your tenaciousness. 🙂

5 12 2008
JJ

Betty, you make me long for the church of my childhood. Seriously. 🙂

Back before the whole thing became so anti-intellectual. . .

6 12 2008
Nance Confer

Betty —

In case your ears are burning, I’m the reason why. 🙂

I cannot tell you how much your comments on Spunky’s list meant to me.

Part of what you said so people know what I am talking about:

“Not rules, but expectations such as clean up after yourself, why would you want someone else to have to do it? Be well read, so you could be part of the conversations that flow constantly in a home where free thinking flourishes. Be prepared enough about a wide variety of subjects that you can converse about many things. Be kind to each other, helped along by that fact that kindness was modeled extremely by their parents, aunts, uncles, etc. I think and my children think that lying comes when lack of respect and belief in the “rules” exists. If kids respect and understand the expectations of their family, their are sometimes reminders given and hugs distributed when someone needs a gentle reminder of hey, could you pick up your shoes out of the living room, they’e smelling up the place..humour helps in family dynamics. But lying..No lying has occured, once they reach that age of wanting to be part of a family that mutually respects each other.
writestuff444 | 12.05.08 – 6:04 am | # ”

It’s the overall kindness that I like in this. But mainly it’s the point about reaching the age of appreciating the lifestyle that has accumulated over years of being treated well.

I love reading about your kids and can only hope that mine are as lovely when they are grown.

But I will try to remember that it’s not age-appropriate to expect them to care about some things until it is. That they have to “reach that age of wanting to be part of a family that mutually respects each other.”

I would hug you if you were standing here! 🙂

Nance

6 12 2008
Crimson Wife

What about chick lit novelists who write highly publicized posts in mainstream forums about how “unschooling” involves letting one’s not-quite-5-year-old hang out at bars late at night?

Not all homeschoolers who are “one fry short of a Happy Meal” are found among the conservative Christian subset…

6 12 2008
JJ

Huh?

7 12 2008
writestuff444

Nance,
But even then, all of our kindness training, respect, love, etc. will cause any of our children to have or live perfect lives. The world isn’t conformed that way, and much of what we come to value or hold dear is acquired in the process of living…and that living includes making mistakes along the way, in fact, I think perhaps it is the only way we learn to live well and love much. Nathaniel and Christopher, now 31 and 33, did not mutually respect each other during their early teen years. IN fact, quite the opposite, They each searched for ways to define their differences and found much fault at times with the other’s “differences” LOL..But now and slowly through the opposite schooling and career paths during the twenties, they have come to a deep and loving respect for the other and treat each other so well, that it warms the cockles of my heart. 🙂 Becoming an independent adult, apart from your family, requires that you find ways to also distance yourself,,to find your own path to maturity and as said before..mistakes occur and what helps, is for Mom and Dad to always be there to listen without judgment, to encourage right thinking, and indpendent handling of those mistakes whenever possible..So, no,Nance, your work doesn’t end when they leave home. A family never ends, it just keeps enduring..andgrowing and adding more people, as they choose loving people themselves..and then you get son in laws and daughter in laws to love and respect. I so enjoy them all, everyone completely unique but bound by love.

7 12 2008
Nance Confer

I don’t know what novelist you are talking about, CW, but you are right — not all crazies are on the lunatic right fringe.

Betty, I wasn’t thinking of an end to parenting — just being more patient with the process. Thanks.

Nance

8 12 2008
Crimson Wife

I’m surprised y’all missed the brouhaha a couple months ago about this piece.

9 12 2008
JJ

Betty, we need t-shirts with your quote:
“. . .humour helps!”

9 12 2008
Nance Confer

CW, I certainly missed that.

And that’s not what she wrote about. She wrote about figuring out her schooling choices and has so far — with a very bright and happy 5-year-old — settled on “un-kindergarten.”

Nance

9 12 2008
Crimson Wife

Nance,
Do you think it’s good press for homeschooling to be linked with letting a not-quite-five year old hang out late at night at a bar?

Most of what she described in her post sounds perfectly fine, but young kids ought to be home (if not in bed) late at night rather than in some bar. Ms. Rendell’s choice to do otherwise gives the rest of us homeschoolers a bad name, which is why I think she ought to shut up about it…

9 12 2008
NanceConfer

I don’t have a problem with it. There are a lot of things I don’t access to and a thriving night life is one of them. 🙂 So it’s difficult for me to judge if this as evil as some of the commenters wanted to make it out to be. Or if it is part of a busy city life among young, hip people. Who, surprisingly to me, were not at all sure they wouldn’t do the “normal” school thing once their children were a bit older.

I can think of a couple of lifestyles I don’t want associated with hsing but this isn’t one of them.

Nance

10 12 2008
JJ

From my post about Jews and feminists and homeschoolers trying to forge a mutually protective shared identity without oppressing themselves in the process:

Do we have any Henry Fords in the homeschool community, movers and shakers who despite their larger than life contributions, also play on our suspicion of outsiders, strangers, corporations and government, tell us our basic “character” is being threatened and maybe really believe it, even as they profit from our heightened fears and insecurities?

. . . What shared identity do homeschoolers in this schoolish culture really want and need, for survival? Do we need more changing to fit in or changing to stand out, both, neither?

And can we stand each other while we’re doing it?

10 12 2008
writestuff444

When a public school parent beats their child, or doesn’t feed them properly, or takes them to a bar (as I was taken as a five year old also), do we label all public school parents as bad? I’m confused by this logic? Why does what one person does, label me unfit to homeschool? I’m with Nance on this one..for sure. 🙂 I may disapprove of a lot of behavior displayed by homeschoolers, including child beating and brainwashing children, but…it says nothing about me and my homeschooling rights. I’m sorry for their children, but there’s ittle I can do, except report abuse to the authorities if I see it. I heard one homeschooler says she wouldn’t even do that, because it would cause a bad name for homeschoolers? Crazy..

Leave a Reply

