Why JJ Is Still on Verge of Being a Liberal Democrat

13 04 2009

Last week I wrote how unionized labor, especially teacher unions, kept me from it. But — like CS Lewis converting to Christianity as a middle-aged adult? — I can feel it drawing me righteously in nevertheless. . .

Read it and weep.

I am often told there is a shocking quality to our story–it prompts a realization that if this could happen to someone like me, it could happen to anyone. But of course there is little that ought to surprise us; political connections are bound to be of little avail in the face of a problem politics has refused to address.

If there is an upside to the country’s healthcare crisis, it is that the problem is hurtling toward a point at which it absolutely cannot be ignored without immediate and disastrous consequences. If there is an upside for me, it is this: returning to those difficult days of poverty and fear in 1969 also means returning to a place where anger inspires activism.

I was a young woman then, of course, with a lifetime of battles ahead. I am not so young now. But I have enough years left to have one more fight in me.

Healthcare is it.

Actions

Information

14 responses

13 04 2009
Daryl Cobranchi

JJ,

I’m just a few years ahead of you in your conversion. It says in the Bible that one cannot serve two masters. The GOP is slave to their owners, big business and the wealthy. As such, they not only don’t care about average people and their concerns, they stand in opposition to most things that would help folks out. All because the wealthy might have to pay more in taxes.

They preach a good game of individual responsibility. But it’s all just a sham. If you’re ill but your net worth is not measured in 7+ digits, they’d rather you just crawl off somewhere to die.

13 04 2009
JJ

A big tent. All I need is that authentically big and welcoming tent, even for people who think about unions with as much disdain as I. What do you think, do the Dems mean it? Is there room in their tent for a Dem such as myself?

(I think I can be much more committed and persuasive on many other issues than the milquetoasty Bayhs of the world for example, if that helps . . .)

13 04 2009
JJ

I heard white-headed Newt Gingrich has just converted to Catholicism after a lifetime as a Southern Baptist and two or three divorces. [dimpling]

If he can do that? . . .

13 04 2009
JJ

It sures SOUNDS like a big tent and getting bigger for the foreseeable future?

13 04 2009
Daryl Cobranchi

There are pro-life Dems. Anti-Labor? Quite probably. The Democratic party is very much alive in parts of the Deep South. Not exactly a hot bed of unionism.

Come on in. The water’s fine.

13 04 2009
JJ

Hey, now! ANTI-labor??
I could almost agree to anti-union though.

13 04 2009
Daryl Cobranchi

Big “L” (i.e., union)

13 04 2009
JJ

Ah, you’re right, that applies.

Did you have a confirmation ceremony or anything, when you converted? 😉

13 04 2009
Suze

What are you converting from? If you don’t mind my asking.

13 04 2009
JJ

It would be from three or four decades of committed non-partisanship.

14 04 2009
Daryl Cobranchi

Did you have a confirmation ceremony or anything, when you converted?

My conversion was a very slow process. I finally officially became a Dem just a couple of months ago. Until that time I voted Dem and was even a paying “member” of the DNC. But I have a difficult time telling the State which party I favor. I just don’t feel that’s any of their business. Took me almost 20 years to get over it.

14 04 2009
JJ

Now that, I definitely relate to!

15 04 2009
Suze

“It would be from three or four decades of committed non-partisanship.”

Ah, OK, that makes sense. (I was getting confused there for a minute.)

I sort of went in the opposite direction: from Dem to committed non-partisanship from a left-libertarian perspective.

15 04 2009
JJ

Hey, Suze, so you and I could have our own — very small — let’s see, um, hearty no-party?
(like no-drama Obama)

Or tarty no-party.

I think maybe I just am not a joiner, for anything. Low tolerance for it after too much of it in my youth, groupthink and rules and schedules and conventions and conformity. Which helps explain why I don’t like unions and don’t even play team sports (fencing or tennis are individual even when they are “teams” imo.) Don’t like crowds or even gatherings, usually.

What I can’t figure out is why that’s not the norm for all us who prefer home education.

Leave a Reply

