Another Reason I Voted for This Man

1 05 2009

“I will seek someone who understands that justice isn’t about some abstract legal theory or footnote in a case book,” Obama said.
“It is also about how our laws affect the daily realities of people’s lives — whether they can make a living and care for their families; whether they feel safe in their homes and welcome in their own nation.

. . .I view that quality of empathy, of understanding and identifying with people’s hopes and struggles as an essential ingredient for arriving at just decisions and outcomes.””

Actions

Information

8 responses

1 05 2009
Nance Confer

Empathy.

Obama seems to think that is a key ingredient in a good Justice.

Good for us!

Nance

2 05 2009
writestuff444

I respected David Souter so much…he will be hard to replace in my opinion. A quiet and gentle wise man with ethics and nobility seldom seen in men today.

2 05 2009
JJ

From an earlier time almost, I know what you mean, Betty.

Hey, btw, did you read Christopher Buckley’s piece about losing his parents in the NYT Magazine last Sunday? (based on his book coming out, reviewed for tomorrow here.) I thought of you reading it and wondered how it all would strike you.

He had me at “hello” because he opened with Wilde’s Importance of Being Earnest, one of our all-time favorites here:

Lady Bracknell: Are your parents living?
Jack: I have lost both my parents.
Lady Bracknell: To lose one parent, Mr. Worthing, may be regarded as a
misfortune; to lose both looks like carelessness.

(I too have “lost” both my parents. Come to think of it, so has the man I voted for.)

3 05 2009
writestuff444

JJ, I too have “lost” both my parents…Hmm..is there something in that losing that deepens a human beings sense of compassion and understanding of loss?

I didn’t see the piece, but I heard him on NPR this past week. His mother sounded less than ideal as mothers go. I believe that Christopher Buckley and I have more akin to belief systems than his father and I did, even though there was no doubt of his father’s absolute genius and brilliance.

I can appreciate both…in our new president, his absolute brilliance and his deep compassion. And if it’s just an act, as so many on the right claim. If it’s just his politics…and his Politician demeanor…Well, I just have a hard time believing that.

3 05 2009
JJ

Hmmm, except the Son abandoned the religious belief system of the Father too, not just the politics. . . that makes him MY kissin’ cousin, intellectually. 😉

The closest I’ve come to being comfortable as a church-goer was working out my own interpretation of the concept that an omnipotent god’s a force of nature like gravity, within each of us as truly human and personal, meaning there is “good” within everyone and so we literally create ourselves and each other everyday (and heaven and hell on earth, too) with all of that power.

Point being, never stop thinking and changing and learning even if you’ll never be perfect and whatever you call your creative goodness, or think of as heaven and hell. I believe all the Buckleys, and my folks and yours, Betty, and Barack Obama and his family are all human examples — we are born into different realities and some of us learn to use our awesome human powers better than others. 🙂

Dale at Parenting Beyond Belief has been writing again about “humanism” and how it needn’t be secular as in the RR’s reviled “secular humanism.” He says he used to think secular was the important part of that phrase but now he realizes being humanist is what matters more.

“A humanist,” I said, “is somebody who thinks that people should all take care of each other, and whether there is a god or there isn’t, we should spend our time making this life and this world better.”

She immediately embraced the term herself and announced to her kindergarten class the next day that she is a humanist. When her teacher asked her what that meant, she gave the definition that I had given her—and several of her classmates in that Georgia school enthusiastically declared that they too are humanists.

Oh what I wouldn’t have given for a God’s-eye view of some family dinnertables that night.

So Barack Obama and Betty and my grandfather for examples, can be both devout and humanist, and their creative compassionate change force in the world will align with Nance’s or Lynn’s or Christopher Buckley’s, say, as fellow humanists without the god’s-eye view.

3 05 2009
JJ

The parents who literally created us are now “lost” yet in this humanist sense still very much with us and part of us, no longer corporal but in our genes as well as our heads and hearts. And yet. . .

“But late-life orphans like himself learn that ‘it’s your call now,’ and a reader should think twice before faulting him.”

3 05 2009
writestuff444

I do like that…I’m a humanist…who sees that being human toward each other entails compassion, respect, tolerance, whether those traits are grounded in a faith tradition or a secular one…it should be the humanist that is important. I so agree with Dale. For me my religion has always been about how it impacts relationship and community. For others, their religion is about their own personal relationship with God. …different folks for different strokes. I see God has being utilized to reach out..others see God as reaching in…

3 05 2009
JJ

😀 {{humanist hugs}}

Leave a Reply

