The Grim Reader: Power of Story Matters Life and Death

18 06 2010

Not everything has to be political and religious in education. It’s really possible to study power of story and have fun outside of that wearying rubric. For example, ever hear of this?

“Death is only half the story. Obit is about life. . .” Obit-Mag dot com provides comprehensive coverage on how the loss of a person, a place, an object or an idea presents an opportunity for examination and discussion.
Obit is not solely about death. It asks the question, “What defines an
important life?”
It is a forum for ideas and opinions about life, death, and transition written by some of the most respected journalists in the American media.

A current example from the Grim Reader:

JIMMY DEAN
by Michael Schaffer
JUNE 18, 2010
One of Grim Reader’s favorite anomalies about the Obitosphere involves what happens after the death of a musician whose work might fall under that broad rubric known as Americana.

U.S. media cover the passing, of course, turning out perfectly adequate copy that sometimes even manages to treat the dearly departed as something other than kitsch.

Across the pond, meanwhile, British broadsheets produce long, thoughtful, respectful considerations of the dead musician’s life and times.

The death this week of country singer Jimmy Dean presents a classic example of the trans-Atlantic divide. . .

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 06 2010
Lynn

Interesting site. Funny, I came here from an article about Corexit (the dispersant being used in the Gulf that is carcinogenic, mutagenic, highly toxic – and banned in Great Britain) to read about “looking at life through the lens of death.” Are they saying that loss (“the loss of a place” in the case of the Gulf) “presents an opportunity for examination, discussion and even celebration,” in every case? Because the word “celebration” is jumping off the monitor at me.

Not that everything has to be political, of course. 😀

18 06 2010
JJ

Lynn, I’ve looked but can’t find “celebration” jumping or otherwise, on my monitor. 😉

In any case, wherever it is, I can’t imagine “respected journalists” or intelligent readers (like us!) would apply that word to every loss automatically. OTOH, no matter how painful a loss, there does come a point in the process where celebrating what was wonderful before it was lost, happens. It’s human. I’ve been happily celebrating my mom and dad for decades, and I even got my sister telling stories and laughing the day of dad’s funeral.

Maybe in the case of the gulf, it isn’t lost yet — I’m not dead yet, I’m feeling better! (Holy Grail) — more like the ravages of the treatment are distressing us all and we’re still in denial about the loss we may be facing? While the unstanched bleeding and pain and fight are still raging, it’s not yet the time to accept the loss and sing “Camelot” . . .

18 06 2010
Lynn

Ooops. I guess I must have wandered off and made my way to the Meet Obit tab, under which I found celebration jumping. I’m easily distracted, you know. 🙂

18 06 2010
JJ

Must be because Girl is in school this year; it’s a wonder you don’t chase cars and your own tail . . . 😉

18 06 2010
Lynn

I thought a full night’s would do me good, but, apparently, I’m hosting an 5-girl “epic sleepover” tonight to celebrate the end of finals [party horn]. I guess I’ll sleep tomorrow night instead.
😀

Leave a Reply

