From Sue in Texas — Shall We Forgive Her?

13 08 2011

😀

Actions

Information

31 responses

14 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

You know JJ, at first I wasn’t going to watch this clip tonight. You see I have had my fill of bad news. But then I thought what the heck! Why not pull just one more fingernail out, after all, it’s Saturday night.

*sigh* yes, now Bush is referred to as “the smart one.” egads!

14 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

I cannot believe that someone who recently suggested that Texas secede from the Union, actually believes that he is presidential material? How does that make Perry anything more than a wannabe traitor? I mean what does that tell you? When America get’s tough, Perry wants to jump ship? Wow, that’s the guy I want in charge of everything. Watch out California, Perry’s got the watch–better make him happy or you’ll get voted off the island with Vermont! LOL

14 08 2011
Nance Confer

When you make Ron Paul look sensible. . .

14 08 2011
Lynn

re: “Watch out California”

For as long as I can remember, we’ve been warned that a big earthquake could cause our state to break free (secede?) from the rest of the country. If that happens, you’re all invited to give Prez Perry the heave-ho and come join us. 😀

14 08 2011
Lynn

Of course, Bryan Fischer of the AFA (American Family Association) is suggesting that Perry may lack the cajones to be president. Fortunately, Michele Bachmann doesn’t.

If you look at the Scriptures, I believe it’s clear that God has designed men to exercise authority in the home, in the church, in society, and in government… Now then the question becomes what if God can’t find any men with the spine and with the testicular fortitude to provide the kind of leadership? Well, what he’ll do is He’ll send a woman to do a man’s job.

Could it be the real reason they call her the Queen of teabagging?
<:O

source: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9PYvUHfvhGM

JJ, I thought you were way past due for one of my off-color comments.
😉

14 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

Oh Lynn, positively dreadful and unfortunately dead on the mark. Patron Saint of Teabagging. Our Lady of the Rubber Truck Nuts.

JJ may start deleting our comments. Sorry JJ. Well really only if you are upset, if not…

14 08 2011
JJ

I am the Grammar, Spelling and Original Thought Monitor, not the Off-Color Police. 😉

14 08 2011
JJ

But I have to say, poor prim and proper MisEducation took to her porch swing with a big fan and a bigger sherry when Snook first introduced her to the automotive ornaments Beep references. . . and the Butt Paste nearly killed her.

14 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

Yea, those automotive ornaments have got to go. What if I made a rubber vagina and put running lights in the labia and stuffed it with a fake squirrel and hung that off the back of my car?

Where is the line?

15 08 2011
JJ

I thought the law was almost as stupid and vulgar as what it sought to protect us from. With or without public appearances in traffic or law books by either sex’s private parts, the South just plain isn’t a healthy, happy place for tasteful automotive ornamentation, between the shotguns and dead animal antlers and camo paint, moonshine jugs and confederate battle flags not to mention live (not that they do much to insure it) children and dogs bouncing in the back of open pick-up truck beds.

Favorite Daughter’s road trip through the South last summer was a case in point!

Then we came to what they had bought:

1) A (need I say tacky?) pistol-packing deer dressed in rebel cap and Confederate battle flag, with a big jug of moonshine between its folded front feet, planned for a gag party gift. I can’t figure out why its antlers are detachable because it doesn’t turn into a flask or anything; maybe it’s just to cap off this dim-witted derogation of a beautiful animal not known for brains yet certainly smarter than its derogators, to underline the demented, hairy, spitting, smelling, self-loathing, belly-scratching stupidity of this entire ill-conceived creation.

15 08 2011
JJ

Just heard Rick Perry’s Iowa speech about his “veto pen” and it was EXACTLY like hearing George Bush, eerie! The looks, gestures, cadence and accent, the whole delivery. Jon Stewart won’t have to change his impression one bit.

15 08 2011
JJ

I’m testy right now about the South for a couple of reasons. (One is the book/movie The Help, which we can talk about later.)

The other is about Perry riding toward the presidency on how great TX is doing economically (yes, I know he’s cherry-picking data, ignoring for example his state having the highest percentage of health-uninsured in the nation) — but it is true that the unemployment rate is lower in TX by a full third than here in FL, where we are DYING for jobs (under another southern millionaire governor who likes to brag about jobs like Perry but in fact wins by firing, not hiring, like Romney.)

Same with Bachmann’s MN and Romney’s MA, btw. Those states have unemployment rates much lower than my state or the national average.

But does that make them better qualified to lead the nation, or worse? Clueless about our real issues even! What I see in it is that in this jobs-taxes-economy election, the GOP frontrunners both whitebread Yankee or southern seccessionist firebrand, don’t have anything that matters in common with me and MY state (not Rick Scott’s) and MY southern culture (certainly not Perry’s or the Bush brothers’ guns, flags, playing chicken, prayer as public policy, Big Hair and Bigger Balls. I’m even coming to despise the drawl.)

. . .my Methodist role models, who hadn’t even split into separate churches yet, were also united in larger common purpose (never mind whether that label was used) with everyone I knew in and… that fit together for all as collaborative good works, rather than competing against each other

Chris O’Donnell knows my state and southern culture, and just wrote a spot-on post about this tragic difference between individual free will enlightened enough to unite in larger common purpose, versus free-market free-for-all “competition” culture ravaging American culture in broad swaths, like biblical locusts:

They all acted in personal self-interest, and screwed the country in the process. The power interests in this country only saw the rest of us as a resource to be used in their pursuit of wealth and more power. And now they’ve depleted the resource . . .[and] have put armed guards at whatever resources are left, and they aren’t sharing.

15 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

Oklahoma is a right to work state. And so what that means is that a lot of people are employed with multiple part time jobs. I think it’s unfair that we count those jobs for employment–many which are min wage, but do not count them for qualifications of health insurance and sometimes even unemployment benefits. So Texas may have similar issues. Working at Burger King might be money in the hand, but does it really count? What else could that be but a dead end job that leads to nothing, nowhere but more debt and poverty because you can never save enough on a job like that to get out the hole of living. Perhaps someone needs to look at what kind of employment is prevalent in Texas and MN and MA? And then compare and contrast that to Illegal Aliens working under the table statistically speaking. I bet the demographics would look a lot different in that light.

15 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

As for getting fed up with the South. Think of this as a result of the Southern Strategy that has been employed year and year by powerful mega-corporate churches [emphasis on corporate] and of course the GOP. Not everyone who lives in the South behaves like that. We do have our unique humor. The people you refer to would be called *White Trash by my relatives. That sort of thing is still considered tacky even in these parts. And often they do it for the same reason that older teens like to blast offensive lyrics from their cars in the middle of the night. It is to be the center of attention by appearing to rebel against some imagined status quo. To which I reply: Yes of course you are special, just like everyone else.

15 08 2011
Lynn

re: “a lot of people are employed with multiple part time jobs”

Hey, I was just on “Save The Words” and adopted,

“jobler” n. one who does small jobs

As part of the adoption agreement, “I hereby promise(d) to use this word, in conversation and correspondence, as frequently as possible to the very best of my ability.” Sounds like given new economic realities, I’ll have no trouble honoring my contract.
😦

http://savethewords.org/

15 08 2011
COD

bp – I believe the reply you are looking for is, “Bless their hearts.”

15 08 2011
JJ

Chris, that was perfect! (Where’s Sam? He’ll back us up.)

15 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

Yes, that would be correct COD.

16 08 2011
sam

Bless their hearts indeed.

Along with Lynn’s new word I’ll add one that maybe is only newish to me. Maybe it isn’t a TN thing after all, but this is where I’ve heard what I’m assuming is somehow a contraction of “you ones” into you’ns, pronounced with the “ou” having the “oo” sound as in “book.” Either way it’s southern.

And watching Mr. Perry felt like watching an actor playing Bush the worser. While I fear a President Perry, I can’t imagine anyone would take him too seriously. What I’m most worried about in this election is not so much that there is a chance any of the R candidates might win but that we won’t even get a chance to maybe shop for a different D.

Having said that I don’t think I’ve ever seen such an obviously frightening bunch of R candidates. Am I mistaken? Has there, in the modern era, been a more ridiculous yet serious bunch of them? Also, when they were all together in Iowa, on the same stage, was there also a dark funnel cloud above them sucking out all the light and goodness and happiness?

16 08 2011
JJ

So for all of you intrepid folk including CW and Lynn out in CA, and also because CW and Nance have northeastern backgrounds that I plan to connect up, a conversation about “The Help” is coming soon, today if I can manage it . . .

16 08 2011
JJ

Btw to my CA friends, our TN-turned-FL half-billionaire Lord Voldemort of a governor was rated the least popular governor in America in the spring. So now he is trying to become Jerry Brown!

I think I recall CW offering to swap me Brown for Scott, and I said I’d take the deal, so I can’t and won’t complain that I’m getting the Brown look. But what I want to know is, when will she come to collect the creepy cruciatus-curse Scott People-Hater part on the inside, and take it back to CA with her??

CW, I will pay for your gas!

16 08 2011
Lynn

lol – what a departure from your last avatar, sam 😀

16 08 2011
Lynn

JJ,
Yes, CW did offer to swap Brown for Scott – but I nixed the deal, remember?

p.s. You can’t have our senators (Feinstein and Boxer) either.

p.p.s. If you’d like to negotiate for my tea-partying, tax-dodging, civil war-reenacting house rep., Gary Miller, I’m willing to listen.

16 08 2011
JJ

Damn, you drive a tough bargain! So I might have to stonewall and burn our states to save our states, if I can’t have 98% of the deal *I* want . . . and btw I just realized to my great chagrin that Thinking Parents and Tea Party share initials.

16 08 2011
Nance Confer

For nothing but the absolutely basest sort of humor, has MisEducation had a chance to see Bachmann and pray-away-the-gay hubby enjoying a corn dog at the state fair? So much for my thinking Bachmann’s handlers had it all under control. . .

16 08 2011
JJ

Nance, she missed it. Right over her head as so much is. 😉
Is there perhaps a youtube of it?

16 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

I married a very wise man [whom I do not submit to] who once pointed out the following:

If you are attracted to the same gender [homosexual] even if you go out and decide to take the opposite gender home for a night of good clean-dirty fun, the fact that you have to decide is a good indicator that you are still gay.

Praying the gay away cracks me up. Such magickal thinking from those who claim to abhor the occult. It boggles the mind.

I know why it didn’t work too. They didn’t pronounce the words right and their hand gestures were all wrong. –It’s all very scientific. 😀

16 08 2011
Nance Confer

MisEd, I would be embarrassed to send you a link to these pictures. But I think I saw them first at The Rude Pundit.

16 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

Oh My, I just visited, and it’s shocking. Shocked! I tell you!

17 08 2011
Nance Confer

Yes, isn’t it? Makes your truck decor ideas look better though. 🙂

18 08 2011
bpbproadrunner

Oh now, you know you want one of your very own. My line will be exclusively day-glo rubber, and faux snake skin. Texture and color are very important when attempting to get the attention of the masses.

Leave a Reply

